An Organic Societal Revolution


I have had a lot of thoughts go through my mind the last several months and I wanted to get them out of my head so I can sort through them for actual gems – keeping what has merit, and discarding the bad ideas.

I have become increasingly convinced that under the current circumstances there is not much to be done to fix what is wrong with the government of the United States of America.  It would need many things, which includes having a good portion of the politicians either rid their lives of corruption, or for the rare few who are not corrupt have the courage to stand up to it.  This seems a bit too much to ask.

I’ve seen a few proposals to fix this nation, and most of them seem to at least in part rely on politicians in Washington to endorse or take part in the change.  Granted, with the cooperation of government officials, societal reform is much easier, however the five laws of decline, as outlined in the book Resolved, by Orrin Woodward, say that this will not happen.  Bastiat’s Law, paraphrased, says that because change requires work, when the discomfort of the work to change is greater than the pain of the status quo, people, as a group, will choose the things as they are, independent of ethics.  This is an important thing to understand about human nature, especially when dealing with politicians.  They have to deal with many of the hardest changes that must happen.  It takes a great deal of courage to stand up for what you believe is right, and when you are in a situation where there is a great deal of discomfort and even pain required to make a change to society, it takes extreme courage to make that change.  Most of us have a hard time when our daily schedule is disrupted when the water company needs to do maintenance, why would we expect our politicians to have more courage than we choose to show?

That being said, I believe that any fix for the direction of decline that we find in the world must be what I am going to call an organic societal revolution.  This would be different from a grassroots movement.  It must be different.  Grassroots movements are powerful for change at a local level, but when a grassroots movement gets big enough to be noticed at the national level, it is easily marginalized as unsophisticated, and sometimes even fringe fanatical – detached from the reality of people’s lives.

Also, the true fix will never be manufactured by politicians who mostly see things from the 1000 ft point of view.  This is especially true since our nation has become so large that for a member of the US House of Representatives represents more than 700,000 people on average.

My whole intent when I started this blog was to write about my thoughts of the importance of community in the maintenance of freedom.  I have done a lot of reading and having some invaluable experiences learning about leadership and community building as I have become increasingly involved with LIFE Leadership.

The more I learn, the more I consider myself supremely under-qualified to lead or start any sort of societal revolution.  However, I do believe I am associated with an organization that is helping to remedy that in myself and many other people who will be required to bring about a solution.  I am gaining experience and understanding of the importance of working with and serving people – after all, in leadership, other people are not optional.  I can pontificate all I want on my blog about the importance of community, liberty, leadership, and virtue; but if I am not helping people make their own lives better and leading them to join me in my quest to create an organic societal revolution, all I am just one more person complaining about how things are, explaining how they should be, and offering no workable solution.

Let me explain what I mean by organic.  I’m not talking about organic as in organic foods.  I am talking about an organization that develops and grows much like a living organism.  A living organism has several different phases throughout its life – growing, adapting, thriving, and eventually (hopefully) fulfilling the measure of its creation.  That is what I want to explore in the next few posts.

