It’s my fault. I take responsibility.


Blame

Who to Blame?

You have all been wondering whose fault it is that our nation finds itself in such a state of decline.  Well, I have found the culprit.

It’s me.

Yep, that’s right, I’m claiming responsibility for the state of our nation.  Not because I am an evil mastermind attempting to destroy our nation (I’m not, in case you had any doubts), or because others shouldn’t have some onus because there are plenty of people who should be taking responsibility, but because with any problem, until I recognize my own responsibility in the cause, I cannot be part of the solution.  Speaking to what other people are doing wrong, or blaming and vilifying others really does nothing to improve any problem. Therefore I am hereby resolving to eliminate blame from my life, and replace it with personal responsibility.

This is not to say that others don’t have responsibility, but to say that starting now, I will stop using others as a source of frustration and cynicism. I can’t change the decisions of others, but I can change my decisions. I can’t make anybody else start to educate themselves better, but I can make my education a higher priority.

In the evenings, after my kids have gone to bed, when my wife is at work, instead of finding a movie I would like to watch, I will be reading or writing or studying in some other way – seeking to improve myself and become an informed citizen.  I will be reading from the list of books that have been given to me by those that are mentoring me either directly or indirectly.

I cannot call upon others to do that which I am not willing to do myself.  If I am to lead others, I must go first.

Who will join me in taking responsibility for fixing the problem?

Never blame any day in your life. Good days gi...

Taking responsibility

Who will join me in eliminating the attitude of finding who to blame?

I hope you join me, because it is only by people improving themselves and becoming better, more responsible citizens that we can avoid the very real catastrophes that are looming in the near future.

3 thoughts on “It’s my fault. I take responsibility.

  1. Agreed. I believe blame and responsibility are very dynamic terms with other sister words that seem to either root or grow from them. It ought to come and go both directions and then back and forth after that. The key is to not polarize the interaction and allow it to stagnate on one side or the other. When I recognize a problem occurring that I cannot readily see is a result of my actions, I want to be asking the question what can I be doing to help catalyze the situation, turning it right?

    Like

  2. Pingback: Robert JR Graham » Who is to Blame?

  3. I’ve recently been introduced to a leadership and community development company that I think you would be interested in. It’s founder is associated with the Center for Social Leadership and co-Authored a book with Oliver DeMille that will be coming out in March.

    For more information go to http://www.my-new-paradigm.com.

    Like

Comments are closed.